It happens to me more often then I’d like.
Stumbling across old journals, battered by time and covered in scribbles by my lovingly appreciative son, and upon opening them I’m immediately filled with a sense of regret at putting pen to paper.

See, I suffer with what I call ‘comic book syndrome’.
A term I use to describe that sense of having one charecter and giving them 500 starting stories, various origins and reasons that they are who they are.

So everything I open one of these old books, I’m faced with the prospect of my charecter being a naturally talented swordsman, that happens to be chosen by fate to become something bigger ‘fate actually being a charecter’
Or he’s a mysterious traveller that comes into town one day, wielding powerful magics and is also a master swordsman.
Or he’s a baby that’s rescued by a clan of werewolves and then taken by someone/something else.

See what I mean?
Not even one page in and he has 3 different opening stories.
It can make putting pen to paper (or finger to screen in my case) difficult, and even worse if I return to the story.

Let’s not get onto the state of my writing…
That bizarre webbing of letters, that drunken scrawl (soberly placed) that drags it’s sorry self across the page and attempts to form a story, but falls short due to its illegibility.

But that, my friends, is something for another time.

21 thoughts on “Work of the previous kind

  1. OMG, you’ve been reading my character notes! Too scary! I can’t finish anything because my characters and first pages keep changing. And that’s AFTER I’ve written 50,000 words!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I get that, too. I’m writing another book about blogging, and using a post for each chapter, the. Commenting on it. Sometimes it’s downright embarrassing!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve been writing the same charecter for about 13 years so far and every time somethings different haha.
        I haven’t got to use him for sometime though so I’m not worried haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You are not alone! I think this might be something that plagues many writers. After all, with great imagination comes endless possibilities and we are condemned to wade through our minds searching for that perfect origin story lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d be writing for a thousand years haha!
      I’m trying to get some things to stick together to make one story fully, but it’s hard to get them to stay solid for long enough haha

      Like

  3. :D:D:D ….I LOVE this post …I too have a couple of scraggy old notebooks with ideas for characters and a kind of plot skeleton ….no …not even a skeleton …a few shambled bones:D:D…..I kind of feel they are dots that I never get round to fully joining ….hmmmmm maybe one day:D:D

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmmm ….yep maybe ….but no ….NO ….that would send me off on an even WORSE tangent with NUMEROUS scraggy notebooks full of even MORE 1/2 assembled plot skeletons ……aaaaaaaaaaagh!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I believe that is what makes us writers, the fact that the story can go so many different ways. You can start with one point and several different stories can develop but what is wrong with several different stories from the same starting point. It is like three different people being at a stoplight. Once they all cross the street to the other side, each goes their own separate way. Keep sharing and maybe we can enjoy those different stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You write best when speaking of your challenges ad your feelings. Perhaps try to ‘be’ your characters when you write from their perspective. This works for me.
    Thanks for following my blog. Your little boy is delightful – such a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hello! I skip the character profiles and write the story. Otherwise I am always doing this. I like the characters to talk to me as I write and they more often then not, surprise me. I know this won’t work for everyone but it lets me get the story on paper. I do the profiles after I have learnt everything about them that I can, through the story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

