The flower
Full in bloom, catching sunlight
Drinking water
Breathing the air
Sat aside the window

However
One day, it began to turn
It’s leaves began to curl
Harden
And crisp at the ends
The air still flowed
The water was fresh
The sunlight still beaming.

It appeared before long
Standing next to the flower.
“You have little time
Make your peace”
The flower looked up
“But I am a flower, all I know is peace”
“You are, and yet I sense the turmoil”

Away from ledge
A couple argued
The flower felt the anger
The sadness
The bitter sorrow of them

“They fight often. I grow tired”
“Why are you here?” It asked
“I was a symbol of love, to show the other they cared”
It pointed to the leaves
“But yet you turn…”
“Yes. My elements cannot keep me alive forever
Just as they have eroded, so have I”

The days continued
The air became intensely hot
Then Bitterley cold
The flower dropped lower

Lower

And lower
Falling to its last degree
It showed again
“Your time is short
How is the peace?”
“Look upon me and see.
I have no life left within”
“Sometimes, it is best to go peacefully
Then erode and decay.”

“I agree…”
The flower folded fully onto itself
Crispin as it went
The leaves now greying and crusted
It waved a hand and took the flower
As the couple went their separate ways.

I wish this didn’t make as much sense to me as it does.

😔

Six

16 thoughts on “Wilt

  1. Melancholy in the most pleasant of ways! Really enjoyed this read, as well as a few of the other poems I read on your page. I really love your style of poetry, and can sense the passion you have for it and the source of your text. It really makes me want to write poetry the way I used to. Keep up the great work!

    I hope that you will help me on my new blogging venture, and possibly leave some feedback on my first blog post.

    Intimatelywed.com/reasons-for-intimate-wedding

    Best wishes,

    – Deborah M.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow thank you, I hope I can serve as this purpose.
      I’m still new to poetry, it’s not really something I ever looked at doing before but I gave it a try and… well, haha.

      Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you enjoyed my ‘work’.

      Like

      1. Your very welcome. Keep at it! I think you could really surprise yourself. If you’d like to see one of your poems published in an anthology, try searching Eber & Wein Publishing Co. online. They used to host poetry contests and select poets for prizes and publish the best in seasonal anthologies that are for purchase. I’ve had two published by them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow that’s awesome, thank you I may look into it haha
        I doubt that I could get anything published yet though haha, I’m still new to this at the moment.

        Like

  2. LOL! LOL!
    Actually that other comment is for THIS post.
    “What a beautiful dance of words! Got great a visual in my mind while reading this as well.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

